DIY · Lifestyle · Tips

Tips for Arthritis (or chronic illnesses)

Hi everybody! Jeez, I should probably be more consistent about this huh? Anyways, let’s cut to the chase. Yes I have arthritis disease (if you didn’t already see the title) and yes it is difficult. For those of you who don’t know here is the google definition (a painful inflammation and stiffness of the joints.)

Screen Shot 2017-02-17 at 7.39.46 PM.png

How exciting ^

So anyways, for those of you who are new or old into the arthritis (or chronic illness) game here are some of my favorite tips that help me feel better and more relaxed.

Disclaimer: even if you don’t have arthritis or a chronic illness it doesn’t mean that you can’t try these out! 🙂

1. Take a hot bath. I love baths and they’re so relaxing and soothing, and the best part is that they loosen up your muscles and they make you feel great afterwards. If you think that baths are boring then try using bath bombs (store bought or DIY), oils, or epsom salt (yes it really works!). But a bath bomb is my personal favorite, because they are so fun.

6abdc864526e8faaa591963702f3992c.jpg

2. Try picking up a hobby! May it be writing, gardening, video games, perfecting makeup looks, or baking/cooking. Anything to get your mind off of the discomfort is definitely an improvement of just sitting in pain.

ogimage.img.jpeg

My personal favorite (all hail the empire XD)

3. Get lost into your favorite TV show, or a new one! That’s been one of the best ways that I’ve been able to distract myself. Preferably choose a longer series so that you can come back to it in the time of need.

32-LED-TV-32-LCD-TV-32-LED-TV-Screen.jpg

Wow San Fransisco is so fun to watch on repeat.. not.

4. Get your mind off of the situation by talking with someone. What human interaction!? I know it’s wild but it’s worth a shot if you want to distract yourself to ease the pain. Whether it be texting, FaceTime, Skype, email, or face to face confrontation. I recommend that you try at least one of these. (Thank goodness for the internet am I right)

delete-messages-on-iphone-6-1.png

5. And lastly, try to exercise! What exercise who are you, you crazy sick creature! I know it sounds cheesy and hard but I definitely would give it a shot. Whether it may be aimlessly swimming, doing yoga, taking a quick stroll, playing with putty/slime (that counts you’re moving your fingers >:D), or walking to get the remote. Anything is better than sitting in your bed, letting your thoughts and pain consume you into a black hole.

slime-5.jpg

And I personally have done all of these things and I can’t recommend these enough. One thing I realized is that all of these actions have a similar theme. Distractions. And that is because it’s the most effective thing (that in my case) can work better than ANY CRAPPY MEDICINE! And I know some of you are going to be like,

‘Uh excuse me I think that distractions are the worst, just taking your mind off of it will not help in long term situations. UGH!’

Screen Shot 2017-02-17 at 7.25.37 PM.png

But from what I’ve experienced, I feel like getting your mind off of the pain will result in your brain thinking less of the pain that you are in. Thereby reducing the pain.

And now time for a quick forgotten Q&A! Hahah I’m bad at timing.

Q:  What is your favorite genre of music?

A: Probably pop, electronic, or classic rock. I can’t decide.

So that’s kind of it. Maybe I’ll post on what easy recipes that you can use, what puttys are the best, or what yoga poses are great for people with this condition.Oo! Also ask what questions you want answered for the Q&A every post, I’ll feature your name before the question. I would love some feedback so that I can make this blog adventure more circulated to what everybody wants to read. I don’t know when I’m going to post next so I’ll see you until then.

 

XOXO,

Simply Aerin

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

